The Michigan Administrative Rules specify the criteria for special education and define eligibility for services under twelve different categories of impairment.  Log on to http://www.mde.state.mi.us/off/sped/ for additional information.

Cognitively Impaired (CI)
Emotionally Impaired (EI)
Hearing Impaired (HI)
Visually Impaired (VI)
Physically Impaired (PI)
Other Health Impairment (OHI)
Speech and Language Impaired (SLI)
Early Chilhood Developmental Delay (ECDD)
Specific Learning Disability (SLD)
Severely Multiply Impaired (SXI)
Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
Deaf Blindness
Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)